Library Checkout – February

Welcome to the Library Checkout!

Library Checkout v2.0

Have you been using your library over the past month? What did you read? What didn’t you read? What are you waiting on? We link up the last Monday of every month. Click the button below to get to the linky.

Read
Novels:
       Playing with Fire, by Tess Gerritsen
       My Not So Perfect Life, by Sophie Kinsella
       The Forgotten Garden, by Kate Morton
Comics:
       The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl and the Great Lakes Avengers, by Steve Ditko, Will Murray, Dan Slott, et al.
       Monstress, Vol 1: Awakening, by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda
Audio:
       Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg, by Irin Carmon and Shana Knizhnik [via Overdrive]
       Scrappy Little Nobody, by Anna Kendrick [via Overdrive]
Video:
       Ghostbusters
       Fantastic 4
Music:
       The Getaway, Red Hot Chili Peppers

I love the library for books, obviously, but it’s also great for movies I didn’t care enough to see in the theater. Ghostbusters was just as much fun as I’d heard. So many callbacks to the original… bordering on too many, but all done for laughs, so they didn’t get as old as in, say, Jurassic World (which was more like a guy constantly poking you in the shoulder going, “Hey! Remember this?! Remember this?!” without much payoff). At the other end of the spectrum, Fantastic 4 was… well, not as bad as I was expecting. But I was expecting really bad. And it took itself sooo seriously. The ones from the ’00s might not have been great, but at least they were entertaining.

DNF’d
Novels:
       The Solitude of Prime Numbers, by Paolo Giordano

I got halfway through this before finally giving it up. It wasn’t bad, but I wasn’t getting anything out of it.

Returned unread
Novels:
       Mr. Splitfoot, by Samantha Hunt

Knew I wasn’t going to get to it, so I returned it early for the next people on the waiting list. I’ll come back around to it again at some point.

Currently out
Novels:
       The Fifth Wave, by Rick Yancey
Comics:
       Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol 1: Emperor Quill, by Brian Michael Bendis and Valerio Schiti
       Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet, Book Two, by Ta-Nehisi Coates and Chris Sprouse
       Wonder Woman, Vol 9: Resurrection, by Meredith Finch and David Finch
       Paper Girls, Vol 1, by Brian K. Vaughan and Cliff Chiang
       Paper Girls, Vol 2, by Brian K. Vaughan and Cliff Chiang
       Jughead, Vol 1, by Chip Zdarsky and Erica Henderson
Audio:
       The Princess Diarist, by Carrie Fisher [via Overdrive]
       I’ve Got Your Number, by Sophie Kinsella
Video:
       Suicide Squad

I’ve been taking advantage of Marvel Unlimited this month, so the library comics have just been stacking up. Gotta get to these soon.

On hold
Novels:
       Kindred, by Octavia E. Butler
Comics:
       Wolverine: Old Man Logan, by Mark Millar and Steve McNiven
       Mockingbird, Vol 2: My Feminist Agenda, by Chelsea Cain and Kate Niemczyk [release date 5/2]

Library Checkout - February '17

Plus, as usual, too many picture books to list.

Did you use your library in February? Add your post to the linky and share the library love!

5 thoughts on “Library Checkout – February

  1. Monstresssssssss! I also love my library for movie check-outs. I’m currently watching April and the Extraordinary World, an animated steampunk adventure movie that is just charming and that I totally want to show to my nephew when he gets (quite a bit) older.

  2. I have never used the library for movies! When I was younger, I was always scared off by the intense ($1 a day!) fines for lateness and I’ve obviously never recovered. I’m such a library traditionalist – I only get books from the library. I don’t get e-books, don’t use library apps, no music or movies or tv shows or events. Just books to carry home.

    My library usage was pretty abysmal this month…

    1. I know they’re more than the book fines, but I’m honestly not sure what they actually are. But I’m at the library multiple times a week, so it’s mostly not an issue.

      1. I used to be REALLY bad at returning books on time. Now I take them to work and leave them here until I can walk over on a lunch break. But I’m not sure I would be comfortable leaving DVDs here overnight for any length of time. And I’m horribly forgetful in the mornings. I’m barely a full person before 10am.

What do you think?

